Fidelity: Should It Even Be A Relationship Expectation Anymore?

Cena's Little Helper

Mid-Card Championship Winner
So, for Christmas this year, I got a subscription to Maxim. Although the last time I actually enjoyed the magazine was when I was 15, I couldn't help but read one of the latest issue's articles about how to "have your cake and eat it too." That is to say, an article about how to get sex on the side of your relationship without getting caught.

Now, to me, the most significant thing about this article was not the subject matter itself, but the seeming nonchalance of the writer and all of the women she interviewed (on the assumption that women are much more discreet than men, the article's author, Gillian Telling, only solicited strategies from females). Ultimately, the article conveyed to me the feeling that monogamy is a thing of the past and should no longer be expected FROM ANYONE. While I don't have a problem with people in open relationships, shouldn't someone who wants to be in an open relationship at least discuss this desire with their significant other? Is it too much to trust your partner not to have sex with someone else if this is something that you have not explicitly discussed? Or, is fidelity something that none of us should expect anymore, in any situation?

The fact is that when you have relationships purely based on sexual gratification, it is impossible to expect monogamy. So often we have relationships that negate any emotional connection instead focusing on how many times either party can orgasm, and if that's not enough, to get a little bit on the side.

The study cited bases it's findings purely on having sex on the side. It paints no picture of any emotional attachment and I think monogamy can only be expected of two people who truely care and love each other equally. Beyond that, I don't see how it's possible, given the selfish generation we live in