Religion 2.0

Steamboat Ricky

WZCW's Living Legend
Becca archived the first thread, so I am taking it upon myself to reopen the discussion.

As many of you know, I graduated with a bachelor's degree in religious studies (particularly Christian studies), and I tend to think that I am fairly well read and educated on the topic. But NOTHING on Earth pisses me off more than when someone who is completely novice and ignorant on the matter tries to tell me how I am wrong.

For instance, I have been chatting with a gal on myspace for a couple weeks, and one day she told me about how she was "witnessing" to one of her friends. I replied with this:

Ricky said:
Hmmm. I don't know. I'm always really careful and sensitive when I "witness" to people. Before I was a Christian it would always really piss me off when people "witnessed" to me. It always ended up being "hey your life sucks because God said so" and "live this way because God said so." I was like, "big freaking deal. I couldn't give two rat's behinds about what God says and in no way do I grant him any kind of authority over how I should live." Furthermore, people would always say, "oh you need to be 'saved.'" Saved from what? I was completely content with life and these people harping on me to get saved did nothing but irritate me to no conceivable end. If anything, evangelism is what distanced me from God the most. Instead, it was through boldness and mentoring that I rethought my world-view and gave God a chance.