Original v. Cover: I Shot The Sheriff

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mr. TM

Throwing a tantrum
A new series I am doing after the incredibly unpopular Tri-Top series seems to take a break. The concept is easy, we compare two songs against each other, and you tell me and the world... of WrestleZone, which song you prefer, the original, or a famous cover. We will start with a classic first performed in 1973.

Bob Marley's I Shot The Sheriff.
[youtube]a4zoXO7UvC0[/youtube]

Eric Clapton's Cover
[youtube]metNk_1hhvs[/youtube]

Myself, as one massive Eric Clapton fan, I choose the cover version. I am a Marley fan, but I did not start listening to him until middle school. By the time that happened, I had been listening to Eric's battle with authority for around 10 years. So for me, this is one occurrence where the cover goes over the original by leaps and bounds.

I gotta go with the original version, and sort of the same reason as TM, I've been a huge Bob Marley fan for a number of years now, Clapton is alright, I just never really got into his music I suppose. I think Marley's version is the way that song should be, as the lyrics are more of the Reggae style, more free spirited then Clapton's, plus Marley seems to put more emotion and feeling into his version of the song than Clapton did.

Not only that but Marley was a far better singer than Clapton could ever dream of being. So sorry TM, I'm going with the original reggae version here, nothing against Clapton but I'm a man who loves Reggae music and has a huge poster of Bob Marley as well. I like the idea you got going here, let's keep this going.

You have to go with the original here. I mean, don't get me wrong, I love Clapton to death and I love his cover version as well. But at the end of the day, it's still a cover and Clapton didn't write the song. Marley did. That alone gives the edge to Marley for me, because only he would truly know the meaning of the song and how it should be played or represented.