How far would you be willing to go?

LSN80

King Of The Ring
It's something I've heard so many times in my life, and I've said it before as well. I look at my wife sleeping on the couch, and my newborn daughter sleeping in her crib, and there's no doubt in my mind. If it came down to it, and it was their life or mine, I would give my life for my wife and daughter. I'm not a proponent of violence, nor do I believe it's a great problem solver. But if put in a situation where my wife or daughter's life was threatened, I wouldn't think twice. And perish the thought, if someone were to rape my wife, I'd hunt them down and hurt them. How badly? Unless in the moment, I couldn't say for sure, but I wouldn't go easy on someone who had hurt my wife in such a way.

How far would you go to protect/defend the honor of those you love the most? Could you kill for them?

There's another side to this as well. Sometimes those we love make terrible mistakes. Mistakes, that if uncovered, could ruin their life. If my wife came to me tomorrow and told me she had killed someone, accidentally or on purpose, what would I do? Would I help her cover it up, which is against my values, or would I encourage her to come clean? Could I do so if that meant losing her for 25 to life? Could I live with knowing our daughter would grow up essentially without a mother? Or, as was discussed in JMT's thread, could I find it in myself to take the fall for her, and spend my life in prison?

I began thinking about this as I was watching a 1980's movie with Harrison Ford, Presumed Innocent. Ford plays a prosecutor on trial for the murder of his lover, whom he cheated on his wife with. In the end, Ford is found not guilty, but discovers that his wife had committed the murder. He decides to cover up the evidence, deciding their son shouldn't live without a mother, especially considering it was a situation he was the catalyst for.